Site Content

New Student Convocation

Students try to sing the Alma Mater for the first time.

New students and their parents are welcomed to campus with a convocation in Wait Chapel during orientation weekend. The event features greetings from the University President, the Dean of the College, the Parent’s Council, Student Government and others. Following convocation, students and parents are treated to the Picnic on Hearn Plaza (The Quad). Lunch is provided by Wake Forest and music by the school’s marching band.

In addition, the Award for Excellence in Advising is presented. The award celebrates faculty or staff members who demonstrated excellence in undergraduate advising. It receives support from the Alumni Association.

Award for Excellence in Advising winners

Christy Buchanan (right) presents the Award for Excellence in Advising to Tom Phillips, director of the Wake Forest Scholars.

Christy Buchanan (left) presents the Award for Excellence in Advising to Spanish professor Luis Gonzalez.

2015 — Betsy Chapman, Parent Programs and Dr. Al Rives, Chemistry

2014 — Luis Gonzalez, Spanish and Mary T. Gerardy, Campus Life

2013 — Brook Davis, Theatre and Dance, and Tom Phillips, Wake Forest Scholars

2012 — Rosalind Tedford and Hu Womack, Z. Smith Reynolds Library

2011 — Paul Thacker, Anthropology

2010 — Nina M. Lucas, Theatre and Dance, and Ross A. Griffith, Office of Institutional Research

2009 — Wayne L. Silver, Biology

2008 — Sharon K. Woodward, Health and Exercise Science

2007 — Christa L. Colyer, Chemistry

2006 — Perry L. Patterson, Economics

2005 — Robert L. Swofford, Chemistry, and Thomas W. McGohey, English

2004 — Helga A. Welsh, Political Science, and Leah P. McCoy, Education

2003 — James T. Powell, Classical Language, and Kathy B. Smith, Political Science

2002 — Elmer K. Hayashi, Mathematics, and Anne Boyle, English

2001 — Helen W. Akinc, Calloway School of Business and Accountancy

2000 — Hugo C. Lane, Biology

1999 — Mary Lynn Redmond, Education

1998 — Leo Ellison Jr., Health and Exercise Science

1997 — Jean Kimmer, Registrar’s Office, and Robert W. Ulery, Classical Languages

1996 — James P. Barefield, History, and Harry B. Titus Jr., Art

1995 — Larry E. West, German/Russian, and Phil Falkenberg, Psychology

1994 — Catherine T. Harris, Sociology

1993 — John L. Andronica, Classical Languages

1992 — Lula M. Leake, Assistant Vice President, and Herman E. Eure, Biology

1991 — Edgar D. Christman, University Chaplain

1990 — Carl C. Moses, Politics

1989 — Peter D. Weigl, Biology

1988 — Carl V. Harris, Classical Languages