Henry S. Stroupe

Stroupe Receives WFU’s Highest Honor

By Kimberly Griffing
Jan. 22, 1998

Wake Forest University presented former graduate school dean Henry S. Stroupe with its highest honor, the medallion of merit, during Founders’ Day Convocation on Thursday, Jan. 22.

A Wake Forest alumnus, Stroupe led the graduate arts and sciences school at Wake Forest for more than 20 years before retiring in 1984. Stroupe, who specialized in North Carolina history, joined the faculty in 1937 and chaired the history department for 14 years.

Five other faculty members also were recognized during the ceremony.

The Kulynych Family Omicron Delta Kappa Award for Contribution to Student Life was presented to Katy J. Harriger, an associate politics professor.

The Award for Excellence in Research was presented to David J. Anderson, an assistant biology professor, and Paul R. Anderson, an associate physics professor.

The Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching was awarded to Michele S. Ware, a visiting assistant professor in the English department.

Wake Forest Law School professor Carol Anderson was presented the Joseph Branch Excellence in Teaching Award.